1954 Championship Title

In Game 1 of the AAGPBL Series, the Kalamazoo Lassies defeated the Fort Wayne Daisies 17-9 behind a four-hit, seven strong innings from June Peppas, who also helped herself by hitting 2-for-4, including one home run. Her teammates Carol Habben and Fern Shollenberger also slugged one each, and Chris Ballingall belted a grand slam. Pitching star Maxine Kline, who had posted an 18-7 record with 3.23 ERA for the Daisies during the regular season, gave up 11 runs in six innings and was credited with the loss. Katie Horstman connected two home runs for the Daisies in a lost cause, and her teammate Joanne Weaver slugged one. Cordes started for the Lassies in Game 2, which featured seven home runs by the two teams. Due to a mix-up over the game's starting time the umpires did not allow Cordes to warm up (supposedly there would be a half hour delay). Starting cold, she allowed five runs before getting a batter out. After a leadoff walk to Mary Weddle, Horstman belted a home run for a 2-0 Fort Wayne lead. Then Ruth Richard and Joanne Weaver hit back-to-back singles, and Betty Weaver Foss hit a three-run homer for a 5-0 edge. Elaine Roth relieved Cordes and completed the game. But the Lassies hit three more home runs, one each by Jean Geissinger and the Weaver sisters. Kalamazoo discounted the margin with leadoff shots by Nancy Mudge, Peppas (playing at first base) and Dorothy Schroeder, but the game's outcome was never in doubt. In Game 3 the Daisies won a close one, 8-7, fueled by the heavy hitting of Joanne Weaver, who collected a double, a triple, and a three-run home run in five at-bats, while driving in four runs. Cordes relieved with the bases loaded in the seventh inning, but did not allow any damage for the remainder of the game. Cordes started Game 4 of the series with her team against the wall, 2-to-1. This time properly warmed up, she pitched a complete game, allowing five runs on nine hits, to help Kalamazoo to tie the series. Habben drove in two runs who marked the difference, while Kline suffered her second loss of the Series. In decisive Game 5, Peppas pitched a clutch complete game and went 3-for-5 with an RBI against her former Daisies team, winning by an 8-5 margin to give the Lassies the Championship title in the AAGPBL's last ever game. She received support from Balingall (3-for-4) and Schroeder, who drove in the winning run in the bottom of the eighth. Peppas finished with a .450 average in the Series and collected two of the three Lassies victories, to become the winning pitcher of the last game in the league's history. In the end, the inspired Lassies rose to the challenge and batted .337 as a team. On the other hand, the usually heavy-hitting Daisies averaged only .275.

1954 Championship Title 1

• Other Related Knowledge ofthe championship title

— — — — — —

Current championsAustralian Fighting Championship Title history

Australian Fighting Championship Heavyweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 265 lb (120.2 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Light Heavyweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 205 lb (93.0 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Middleweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 185 lb (83. 9 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Welterweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 170 lb (77.1 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Lightweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 155 lb (70.3 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Featherweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 145 lb (65. 8 kg)Australian Fighting Championship Bantamweight ChampionshipWeight limit: 135 lb (61.2 kg)

1954 Championship Title 2

— — — — — —

Method of assigning the championship title

The title is usually awarded through a combination of specific contests or, less commonly, ranking systems (e.g. the ICC Test Championship), or a combination of the two (e.g. World Triathlon Championships in Triathlon). This determines a 'world champion', who or which is commonly considered the best nation, team, individual (or other entity) in the world in a particular field, although the vagaries of sport ensure that the competitor recognised at the best in an event is not always the 'world champion' (see Underdog). This may also be known as a world cup competition; , for example cycling (UCI World Championships and UCI World Cups)). Often, the use of the term cup or championship in this sense is just a choice of words. Some sports have multiple champions because of multiple organizations, such as boxing, mixed martial arts and wrestling. Certain competitive exercises do not have a world championship or a world cup as such, but may have one or several world champions. Professional boxing, for example, has several world champions at different weights, but each one of them is decided by a "title match", not a tournament. In a title match system, the championship can only be won by directly defeating the incumbent, who in turn must continue to compete to retain their title or risk forfeiture. Still other competitions, most commonly in professional sports, may or may not have a true world championship but may designate the winners of a domestic competition to be "world champions." This is especially true of the "Big Four" major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada; world cups and championships exist in all four of the major sports, but the domestic U.S. and Canadian leagues are generally known as the world professional championships (as with the Stanley Cup, ostensibly an independent championship for ice hockey but under the control of the National Hockey League through two dummy trustees since 1947) or the equivalent of a world club championship. In American football, although an IFAF World Championship exists, the United States is so far above and beyond the other nations it faces that the winner of the U.S.-based Super Bowl, a competition limited to the 32 teams in the National Football League, is commonly nicknamed as the world champion by the players, the press and fans alike; the NFL itself explicitly marketed the contest as a world championship in its first iterations. Finally, certain competitions do not have a world championship or world cup, but rather hold a series of events recognised as the elite level in their field (e.g. tennis and golf have a series of four Grand Slam events recognised as the pinnacle of the game, in addition to key team events, world tour finals and the Olympic Games, though each year ITF designates a World Champion based on performances throughout the year).

the championship title artikel terkait
Multi Channel Laser Anti-theft Alarm Circuit
How Do I Make My Go Kart Faster, Without Spending too Much Or Nothing?!?
What Solute Will Be Replaced by Liquid Electrolyte in Commercial Lithium Ion Battery?
Pool Stage
Introduction of Tubular Soil Moisture Monitoring Station

Copyright © 2020 Concises YuGa Sports | Sitemap